Honey Balsamic Steak Sauce

Whenever we have steak night I always stress about what kind of sauce to pair it with. I can’t bring myself to buy A1 steak sauce. Sometimes simply putting a dollop of horseradish seems sufficient to me. Other times, I just feel like there needs to be a sauce! 

My go-to is usually a red wine reduction but tonight I decided to try something new and wow! It was awesome! Awesome sauce, if you will. So here is how to make a sweet, buttery, yummy/nummy, sauce that is perfectly savory and beautiful to boot! 

Ingredients: 

  • 1.5 cups of balsamic vinegar 
  • 1 tablespoon of honey 
  • 1 tablespoon of butter 
  • Drippings from steak pan

Pour 1.5 cups of balsamic into a sauce pan. Simmer on low heat for 10-15 minutes until the liquid is reduced to the point where it can coat the back of a spoon. Once reduced, turn off the stove and add the honey and butter. Mix gently! Pour whatever drippings you have in the steak pan into your sauce and mix gently. 

Drip onto pieces of sliced steak while playing. Don’t drench the meat. The sauce is very rich! I put the sauce on the side tonight since it was an experiment but next time I will put directly onto the steak! Note: if the steak is not sliced ahead of time, the sauce will get absorbed into the charred edges. Use side dish for people to pour as needed during the meal, in this scenario. 

Leave a comment